Canadian Crews test the water in Poznan

Canadian Crews test the water in Poznan

Team Canada is set to take to the World Cup stage for the first time this year with 14 Canadian crews selected to compete from June 21-23 in Poznan, Poland.

Following selection trials held at the site of RCA’s future National Training Centre on Quamichan Lake, crews were selected to compete at World Rowing Cup 2 in Poland, and World Rowing Cup 3 in the Netherlands.

Canadian Olympic, Paralympic and World Championship medallists will join forces with Canada’s elite rowers in an effort to fine-tune their racing skills ahead of the Olympic and Paralympic qualifier at the 2019 World Championships at the end of August.

The Canadian Women’s squad, led by Head Coach Dave Thompson, will feature multi-medallists in the Coxed Eight – Madison Mailey (Burnaby, BC), Susanne Grainger (London, ON), Jennifer Martins (Toronto, ON), Nicole Hare (Calgary, AB), Avalon Wasteneys (Campbell River, BC), Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski (Calgary, AB), Hillary Janssens (Cloverdale, BC), and Rebecca Zimmerman (Toronto, ON). Coxswain Kristen Kit (St. Catharines, ON) will lead this talented crew with two consecutive World Championship medals (2017 and 2018) and a 2016 Paralympic Bronze medal under her belt. 

2018 World Champion, Hillary Janssens (Cloverdale, BC) will also race in the Women’s Pair with two-time Under-23 World Champion and 2018 World silver medallist, Sydney Payne (Toronto, ON). Canada will be strongly represented in this event with the power-duo, World silver medallist, Kristin Bauder (London, ON) and two-time World silver medallist, Lisa Roman (London, ON).

The Women’s Four includes Olympian and World multi-medallist Christine Roper (Ottawa, On), U23 Gold medallist Stephanie Grauer (Vancouver, BC), Colleen Nesbitt (Calgary, AB), and U23 Gold medallist, Karen Lefsrud (Calgary, AB).

Silver medallists from the 2018 World Cup 3, Andrea Proske (Langley, BC) and Gabrielle Smith (Unionville, ON), will team up again in the Women’s Double while 2018 World Cup silver medallist Ellen Gleadow (Vancouver, BC) and Jennifer Casson (Kingston, ON) will race in the Lightweight Double scull. Jill Moffatt (Bethany, ON) will line up in the Lightweight Women’s Single event.

Canada’s sole Para-Rowing entry is 2018 World Silver medallist Jeremy Hall (St. Paul, AB). Jeremy will race in the PR2 Men’s Single following his swift success at the 2018 World Championships and a bronze medal performance at the 2018 Gavirate Para Rowing International Regatta.

Rio Olympian and Pan Am Gold medallist Carling Zeeman (Cambridge, ON) will compete in the Women’s Single following a bronze medal performance at the 2018 World Cup 3 event in Lucerne, Switzerland. Zeeman and the men’s small boat program will be led by Head Coach Dick Tonks.

Two-time Olympian and Olympic silver medallist Conlin McCabe (Brockville, ON) is lining up with 2016 Olympian Kai Langerfeld (Vancouver, BC) in the Men’s Pair. Canada will be well represented with another Men’s Pair including Olympian Tim Schrijver (Thedford, BC) and David De Groot (St. Catharines, ON).

2015 Pan Am Games Gold medallist Matt Buie (Duntroon, ON) teams up with Aaron Lattimer (Delta, BC) in the Men’s Double sculls.

Maxwell Lattimer (Delta, BC) and Patrick Keane (Victoria, BC) will race the Lightweight Men’s Double finishing just off the podium in 2018 with 4th place finishes at both World Rowing Cups 1 and 3.

2012 Olympic silver medallist Will Crothers (Kingston, ON) makes his return to the Men’s Coxed Eight, joined by a strong Canadian crew- Mackenzie Copp (London, ON), Taylor Perry (Ancaster, ON), Gavin Stone (Brampton, ON), Benjamin De Wit (Port Alice, BC), Martin Barakso (Nanaimo, BC), Cody Bailey (St. Mary’s, ON) and Jakub Buczek (Burnaby, BC). Nine-time Olympic coxswain Lesley Thompson-Willie (London, ON) will lead this crew in Poland alongside RCA National Team Coach Terry Paul.

“The Men’s, Women’s and Para programs are all coming off a solid winter and spring of training and are looking forward to putting their efforts to the test at their first World Cup of the 2019 season,” said RCA High Performance Director, Iain Brambell. “Although World Cups serve as an international assessment for each crew, the 2019 priority is to successfully secure Olympic and Paralympic qualification positions during the 2019 World Rowing Championships in Linz.”

The Women’s program will compete at both World Rowing Cup 2 and 3 with the Men’s and Para-Rowing programs returning to Canada following World Rowing Cup 2 to prepare for the first opportunity at 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games qualification at the 2019 World Rowing Championships.

RCA Women’s Program Head Coach Dave Thompson will be joined by Assistant Coach Phil Marshall to support the women’s program while Men’s Head Coach Dick Tonks will be joined by assistant coaches Jeremy Ivey to support the men’s small boats while Terry Paul will support the Men’s Eight. The Para-Rowing program will be led by Head Coach John Wetzstein.

RCA will announce the 2019 World Rowing Championship team following World Rowing Cup 3 in Rotterdam, Netherlands. This pinnacle event doubles as an Olympic and Paralympic country qualifier for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games. 

Canadian Crews – World Cup 2

PR2 Men’s Single


Jeremy Hall

Edmonton Rowing Club



Women’s Eight


Madison Mailey

Burnaby Lake Rowing Club

Susanne Grainger

London Rowing Club

Jennifer Martins

Western University Rowing Club

Nicole Hare

Calgary Rowing Club

Avalon Wasteneys

University of Victoria Rowing Club

Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski

Calgary Rowing Club

Hillary Janssens

University of British Columbia Rowing Club

Rebecca Zimmerman

University of Victoria Rowing Club

Kristen Kit (coxswain)

University of British Columbia Rowing Club/St. Catharines Rowing Club

Women’s Pair


Hillary Janssens

University of British Columbia Rowing Club

Sydney Payne

Brentwood College Rowing Club



Kristin Bauder

Middlesex-Western Rowing Club

Lisa Roman

Middlesex-Western Rowing Club

Women’s Four


Christine Roper

Ottawa Rowing Club

Colleen Nesbitt

Calgary Rowing Club

Karen Lefsrud

Calgary Rowing Club

Stephanie Grauer

Burnaby Lake Rowing Club



Women’s Double


Andrea Proske

Victoria City Rowing Club

Gabrielle Smith

Knowlton Rowing Club



Spare: Morgan Rosts

Ridley Graduate Boat Club



Lightweight Women’s Double


Ellen Gleadow

Burnaby Lake Rowing Club

Jennifer Casson

Kingston Rowing Club

Lightweight Women’s Single


Jill Moffatt

Western University Rowing Club



Women’s Single


Carling Zeeman

Sudbury Rowing Club



Men’s Pair


Conlin McCabe

Brockville Rowing Club

Kai Langerfeld

University of Victoria Rowing Club



David de Groot

Brock University Rowing Club

Tim Schrijver

Brock University Rowing Club



Men’s Eight


Benjamin de Wit

University of British Columbia Rowing Club

Cody Bailey

MicMac Aquatic Center

Gavin Stone

Queen’s University Rowing Club

Jakub Buczek

Burnaby Lake Rowing Club

Mackenzie Copp

Western University Rowing Club

Martin Barakso

Brentwood College Rowing Club

Taylor Perry

Leander Boat Club

Will Crothers

Kingston Rowing Club

Lesley Thompson-Willie (coxswain)

London Rowing Club



Men’s Double


Matthew Buie

St. Catharines Rowing Club

Aaron Lattimer

University of British Columbia Rowing Club



Lightweight Men’s Double


Maxwell Lattimer

University of British Columbia Rowing Club

Patrick Keane

Victoria City Rowing Club



Live Streaming will be available for finals on Sunday at CBC Sports and World Rowing.
Schedule, Entries and Event Details available at World Rowing

Click here for all National team bios.

The World Rowing and International regatta events dates:

World Rowing Cup 2 – June 21-23, Poznan, Poland
World Rowing Cup 3 –July 12-14, Rotterdam, Netherlands
World Rowing Championships – August 25-Sept 1, Linz, Ottensheim

Related News