2019 RCA Excellence Awards recipients named

The recipients of the 39th annual RCA Excellence Awards, which recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of Canada’s rowing volunteers, coaches and clubs, have been determined.
Recipients will be recognized at the 2019 Excellence Awards banquet taking place Saturday January 25, 2020, at the Brookstreet Hotel in Ottawa, Ontario in conjunction with the 2020 RCA National Conference.
Calgary Rowing Club Junior Program Head Coach Chris Davidson has been selected as Coach of the Year due to his work leading numerous junior athletes to medals at the Royal Canadian Henley Regatta and the National Rowing Championships.
Kevin Boyes has been named Volunteer of the Year for his work organizing safety boats at the Canadian Secondary Schools Rowing Association (CSSRA) regatta and helping create a database of qualified safety boat volunteers for the CSSRA and Canadian Henley regattas.
The Umpire of the Year is Bill Donegan, who has been a strong advocate for coastal rowing events in Canada and an umpire at local, provincial, national and international events. This past year he was also selected to the jury for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.
Argonaut Rowing Club has been chosen as the recipient of the Club – Outstanding Achievement of the Year award, presented by Pearson Dunn Insurance Inc., for its efforts to rebuild its facility after suffering damage from flooding. The rebuild has included making the facility fully accessible and raising $1.2 million through a now sold out community bonds program.
Brentwood Rowing’s Brian Carr will receive the Lifetime Achievement award. Carr has coached for 34 years, including 27 at Brentwood College, dedicating his time towards promoting the advancement of youth in rowing and helping to build the Brentwood Regatta, the largest single-school hosted high school sporting event in North America.
Hudson Boat Works will be recognized with the John Anderson Sport Partner award for its long history of working with RCA and its significant support of Canada’s National Teams.
World Championship PR3 men’s pair gold medallists Andrew Todd and Kyle Fredrickson have been selected for the Para Athlete of the Year award, with the Senior Athlete of the Year award going to World Championship women’s pair bronze medallists Hillary Janssens and Caileigh FilmerIvy Elling Quaintance has been named the U23 Athlete of the Year and Claire Ellison the Junior Athlete of the Year
Twelve individuals (listed below) are also being recognized for years of service to the sport of rowing in Canada with Long Service Awards ranging in length from 15 to 50 years.

The 2019 President’s Award recipient will be revealed at the Excellence Awards banquet on January 25. 

More information on the 2020 RCA National Conference.
More information on the RCA awards.
Excellence Awards banquet tickets can be purchased here.
2019 Excellence Award Recipients

Coach of the Year

Chris Davidson

Calgary Rowing Club

Club – Outstanding Achievement of the Year

Argonaut Rowing Club

Volunteer of the Year

Kevin Boyes

St. Catharines Rowing Club

Umpire of the Year

Bill Donegan

Argonaut Rowing Club

Lifetime Achievement Award

Brian Carr

Brentwood Rowing

John Anderson Sport Partner Award

Hudson Boat Works

Senior Athlete of the Year

Hillary Janssens

University of British Columbia Rowing Club

Caileigh Filmer

University of Victoria Rowing Club

U23 Athlete of the Year

Ivy Elling Quaintance

Victoria City Rowing Club

Junior Athlete of the Year

Claire Ellison

Halifax Rowing Club

Para Athlete of the Year

Andrew Todd

North Star Rowing Club

Kyle Fredrickson

University of Victoria Rowing Club

Long Service Awards – 50 Years

George Gage

Leander Boat Club

Mel LaForme

Leander Boat Club

Long Service Awards – 45 Years

Sandra Kirby

Winnipeg Rowing Club

Long Service Awards – 40 Years

Swede Burak

St. Catharines Rowing Club/Brock University

Tom Kent

St. Catharines Rowing Club/Brock University

Long Service Awards – 35 Years

Linda Arnold

Rowing BC

Daniel Aucoin

Club d’aviron Terrebonne

Long Service Awards – 25 Years

Kurt Herman

Ottawa Rowing Club

Long Service Awards – 20 Years

Jill Wurflinger

Inlet Rowing Club

Bob Ralph

St. Catharines Rowing Club

Craig Jollymore

Kennebecasis Rowing Club

Long Service Awards – 15 Years

Meredith Petrychanko

St. Catharines Rowing Club

Tony Zasada Memorial Fund Award

Claire Ellison

Halifax Rowing Club

Jack Nicholson Coaching Bursary

Samantha Heron

University of Victoria

Mary Rao

St. Catharines Rowing Club/Brock University

Related News