Awards & Recognition

The annual RCA Excellence Awards event is an opportunity to recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of our volunteers, coaches and clubs. Many of these awards are selected based on nominations received by the Awards Committee from our membership.

RCA Awards Policy


RCA’s 2019 Excellence Awards will be presented in January 2020 at the RCA National Conference.

If you have a volunteer, coach or club that deserves special recognition for their performance or contributions to our sport, this is your opportunity to put their name forward.

Rowing Canada Aviron invites and encourages you to take the time to submit nominations for the following RCA Awards. Please click on the links below for further information or to submit a nomination:

Club – “Outstanding Achievement of the Year” presented by Pearson Dunn Insurance Inc.
Coach of the Year
Jack Nicholson Coaching Bursary
Lifetime Achievement Award
Long Service Award
Volunteer of the Year

Note: The RCA Umpire of the Year Award is based on nominations submitted by a Provincial Rowing Association. Please advise your association if you have a candidate that should be considered.

Award winners will be recognized on the RCA website and at the Excellence Awards Banquet that will take place on January 25, 2020, in Ottawa Ontario during the RCA National Conference.

In addition, RCA is pleased to launch the application process (Word, PDF) for this year’s Tony Zasada Memorial Fund Award. This $2000 award is provided annually to an athlete who best emulates Tony’s character and determination. This year marks the award’s 35th anniversary. Applications should be forwarded via email to: Mr Bob Ellard, (subject: ATTN: TONY ZASADA MEMORIAL FUND).

The deadline to submit nominations for all of the above-mentioned awards is November 15, 2019

This is a great opportunity to recognize an exceptional volunteer, rower, coach or umpire. Please contact us if you have any questions at: or 1.877.722.4769 x 1.