National Team

Rowing Canada Aviron selects teams to represent Canada at international rowing competitions. This includes the  Olympic and Paralympic Games  (held every four years – with the next Games in Paris in 2024) and the  World Rowing Championships  (held each year). The Rowing World Cup series comprises of three regattas held each year and overall winners are determined by points that are awarded to the top finishing boats at each event.

Rowing has been part of the Olympic program since 1896. It is one of Canada’s most successful Olympic summer sports and has a winning tradition dating back to more than 100 years. Canadian rowing has a proud history of producing Olympic and World Championships medallists and in 2016, celebrated its first Paralympic medal in Rio de Janeiro.

Rowing has been part of the Olympic program since 1896. At the Rio 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games, Lindsay Jennerich and Patricia Obee won a silver medal in the lightweight women’s double sculls, and Victoria Nolan, Meghan Montgomery, Andrew Todd, Curtis Halladay, and Kristen Kit won a bronze in the LTA Mixed Coxed Four. In London 2012, Canada won two silver medals (men’s and women’s eight) and won four medals – one gold, one silver and two bronze – at the Beijing 2008 Olympic Games.

The next Olympic and Paralympic Summer Games are in Paris, France in 2024.

  • Row To Tokyo

Olympic Boat Classes

Men Women Lightweight Men Lightweight Women
(M) (W) (LM) (LW)
1x, 2x, 2-, 4x, 4-, 8+ 1x, 2x, 2-, 4x, 4-, 8+ 2x 2x


Para Rowing

Para rowing, formerly known as adaptive rowing, was introduced into the Paralympic program in 2005 and held its first Paralympic events in Beijing in 2008. Canada has competed at each of the Paralympic Games, winning its first medal at the Rio 2016 Games in the LTAMix4+. Curtis Halladay, Victoria Nolan, Meghan Montgomery, Andrew Todd and Kristen Kit (coxwain) won a bronze medal.

The next Paralympic Games will be held in Paris, France in 2024.

Learn more about Para Classification

For more on the Paralympic movement in Canada, see 

Para rowing is uniquely integrated with FISA, and Para rowers participate alongside Olympic athletes at FISA World Cups and World Championship regattas each year.

In 2017, the race distance and sport classes were changed. Para rowing is currently divided into five boat classes: PR3 mixed coxed four (formerly LTAMix4+), PR3 mixed double sculls (formerly LTAMix2x), PR2 mixed double sculls (formerly TAMix2x), PR1 women’s single sculls (formerly ASW1x) and PR1 men’s single sculls (formerly ASM1x). The PR3 and PR2 boats are mixed gender. Races are now held over 2000 metres for all five events.


Paralympic Boat Classes

Men Women Mixed
(M) (W) (Mix)
PR1 M1x PR1 W1x PR2 Mix2x, PR3 Mix4+