RCA honours 2020 Long Service Award recipients

RCA honours 2020 Long Service Award recipients

RCA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 Long Service Awards. RCA’s Long Service Awards recognize individuals who have served as a rowing volunteer, in any capacity, for 15 years or longer. Thank you for all that you do for our sport!

65 Years

Conrad Andreychuk
Leander Boat Club

Conrad started rowing at Leander Boat Club in 1951 and competed at the Pan American Games in 1959. He has served as the Leander Boat Club Alumni President and on the Leander Board of Trustees.

Douglas Patterson
Leander Boat Club

Douglas started rowing at Leander Boat Club in 1954, taking up coaching in 1957. He has also been a long-time volunteer with the Central Ontario Rowing Association.

Vic Andreychuk
Leander Boat Club

Vic started rowing at Leander Boat Club in 1953, continuing to compete until taking up coaching in 1963 with Scott Park Secondary School. He is a competitive Masters rower and has helped maintain Leander’s racing shells. 

55 Years

Harry Edmondstone
St. Catharines Rowing Club

Harry is a long time RCA umpire, member and supporter of the St. Catharines Rowing Alumni Association, and Past President of the St. Catharines Rowing Club. 

50 Years

Jim Marino
St. Catharines Rowing Club

Jim started rowing in 1969 and is an RCA and FISA Umpire and Past President of St. Catharines Rowing Club. 

45 Years

Tricia Smith
False Creek Rowing Club

A four-time Olympian and seven-time World Championship medallist, Tricia is President of the Canadian Olympic Committee, a member of the International Olympic Committee, and Vice President of FISA.

Réjean Beauregard
Montreal Rowing Club

Réjean first started rowing and coaching with Club d’aviron de Laval in the 1970s, later serving with Association québécoise d’aviron in various capacities. Réjean is currently a coach with Montreal Rowing Club and the University of Montreal.

Ken Campbell
St. Catharines Rowing Club

Ken is a long-time member and Past President of the St. Catharines Rowing Club. He is an RCA and FIAS Umpire and has represented Canada as an Umpire at numerous international regattas.

Joy Fera
Delta Deas Rowing Club

Joy joined the Vancouver Rowing Club in 1974, rowing for Canada at the 1976 Olympics. In addition to being an Umpire and coach, she co-founded Delta Deas Rowing Club in 1986 and chaired their scholastic regatta for 25 years.

Dolores Young
Kennebecasis Rowing Club

Dolores is a long-time coach, currently at Rothesay Netherwood School, as well as the secretary for the board of Kennebecasis Rowing Club. 

40 Years

Tom Collard
Kingston Rowing Club

Tom joined the Kingston Rowing Club Board of Directors in 1980 as Treasurer and currently serves as Vice President, Finance.

Matteo Cendamo
Montreal Rowing Club

Matteo started volunteering with McGill Rowing Club in 1980 and has since served as President for Montreal Rowing Club and Association québécoise d’aviron. He has also served on RCA’s Board of Directors.

Larry Marshall
Argonaut Rowing Club

Larry has been an active volunteer and coach at Argonaut Rowing Club since 1980. He has served as coach of the University of Toronto’s women’s team and as an Argonaut Rowing Club board member.

Joel Burgon
Argonaut Rowing Club

Joel has performed maintenance on the Argonaut Rowing Club building and docks since 1980 and is currently on the Board of Directors managing facilities.

Ernst Peters
Don Rowing Club

Ernst has been an active member of the Don Rowing Club since 1978 and has served on the Board and as President. 

30 Years

Kim Norris
Rowing New Brunswick Aviron

Kim started coaching at Fredericton Rowing Club in 1979, and coached athletes at the Canada Games and Pan American Games. He has served on RCA’s Coaching Education Committee and in 2018 became President of Rowing New Brunswick Aviron.

Dominique Preney
Nelson Rowing Club

Dominique revived Nelson Rowing Club in 1989, and has since served as the club’s founder and advisor in addition to coaching junior and Masters rowing. 

25 Years

Carol Purcer
St. Catharines Rowing Club

Steve Lutz
Kingston Rowing Club, Royal Military College

Spencer Martin
Ridley College

Siobhan McLaughlin
Ridley College

Maurice De St. Jorre
Nelson Rowing Club

Dereck Schwandt
Ridley College

Charles Thornton
Fredericton Rowing Club 

20 Years

Simon Litherland
False Creek Rowing Club

Barbara Schneider
Argonaut Rowing Club 

15 Years

Sean Moore
Kennebecasis Rowing Club

Philip Hedrei
McGill Rowing Club

Jim Finley
St. Catharines Rowing Club

Cori Simms
Don Rowing Club

Cinda Ewton
Cascadia Regatta Association

Andrew Nokes
Central Alberta Rowing Club

More information on the 2020 RCA Excellence Awards can be found here. Other award recipients will be announced in the coming week.

Related News