Golden Day for Canada in Poznan

Golden Day for Canada in Poznan

It was a golden day for Team Canada on the second day of World Rowing Cup action in Poznan, Poland. Jill Moffatt (Bethany, ON) staged quite a comeback in the Women’s Lightweight Single A Final, to take home the gold with a time of 8:16.43. China’s Mengyin Cheng finished in silver position (8:17.35) and Australia’s Georgia Nesbitt (8:18.76) took home the bronze. This will be Moffatt’s first be World Cup medal, previously finishing 5th at World Cup 3 and World Championships in 2018. 

“I knew it would be a long race, and we had this morning’s race as well,” said Moffatt. “It’s a headwind out there. But our team has put in a lot of work in over the winter and I knew I could handle a race of any length. I was at the back of the pack and was thinking “don’t let them get too far”. I did what worked for me.”

Jeremy Hall (St. Paul, AB) captured the silver medal in the PR2 Men’s Single event, continually closing the gap on World Champion Corne De Koning from the Netherlands. This is the second silver medal for Hall, placing 2nd at the 2018 World Championships in Plovdiv.

“Because of the conditions, I knew today was going to be a little bit harder and slower than yesterday. Yesterday I left a little bit in the tank at the end of the race so today I just wanted to lay it all out there.”

Six more Canadian crews have earned their way to the A Finals tomorrow including Conlin McCabe (Brockville, ON) and Kai Langerfeld (Vancouver, BC) in the Men’s Pair. The Men’s Lightweight Double crew, Maxwell Lattimer (Delta, BC) and Patrick Keane (Victoria, BC) locked down their spot along with Hillary Janssens (Cloverdale, BC) and Sydney Payne (Toronto, ON) in the Women’s Pair. Carling Zeeman (Cambridge, ON) will also line up in the Women’s Single A Final. 

Both Canadian big boats have qualified for the A Final tomorrow. The Men’s Eight won their repechage today and the Women’s Eight finished 3rd to secure their spot in the big boat showdown.

Tune into all the action tomorrow with streaming live at CBC Sports and World Rowing on Sunday. The first A Final for Canada is set to start at 5:08ET/2:08PT.

Team Canada Results and Progressions (in order of event)

PR2 Men’s Single – Jeremy Hall
Silver Medal 🥈 

Lightweight Women’s Single – Jill Moffatt
Gold Medal 🥇 

Women’s Pair 
3rd in A/B semi-final > A Final
Bauder/Roman 14th overall

Men’s Pair  
2nd in A/B Semi-final > A Final
De Groot/Schrijver 13th overall

Women’s Double Sculls – Andrea Proske & Gabrielle Smith
4th in A/B Semi-final > B Final

Men’s Double Sculls – Matt Buie & Aaron Lattimer
14 overall

Women’s Four -Christine Roper, Colleen Nesbitt, Karen Lefsrud, Stephanie Grauer
13th overall

Women’s Single Sculls – Carling Zeeman
1st in A/B Semi-final > A Final

Lightweight Women’s Double – Jennifer Casson & Ellen Gleadow
13th overall

Lightweight Men’s Double – Maxwell Lattimer & Patrick Keane
3rd in A/B Semi-final > A Final

Women’s Coxed Eight (Roster below)
3rd in Rep > A Final

Men’s Eight (Roster below)
1st in Rep > A Final
Live Streaming will be available for finals on Sunday June 23 at CBC Sports and World Rowing.

When and Where
June 21-23, 2019
Poznan, Poland
Racing starts 9:00am local time (3:00amET / 12:00amPT)

How to Follow Racing 
Live tracking and blogging every day at
Live streaming of finals on Sunday available in Canada at CBC Sports.

Join the conversation @rowingcanada: #WRCPoznan #rowtotokyo #rowingcanada

Schedule and Results available at
Canadian Crews – World Cup 2

PR2 Men’s Single  
Jeremy Hall Edmonton Rowing Club
Women’s Eight  
Madison Mailey Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Susanne Grainger London Rowing Club
Jennifer Martins Western University Rowing Club
Nicole Hare Calgary Rowing Club
Avalon Wasteneys University of Victoria Rowing Club
Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski Calgary Rowing Club
Hillary Janssens University of British Columbia Rowing Club
Rebecca Zimmerman University of Victoria Rowing Club
Kristen Kit (coxswain) University of British Columbia Rowing Club/St. Catharines Rowing Club
Women’s Pair  
Hillary Janssens University of British Columbia Rowing Club
Sydney Payne Brentwood College Rowing Club
Kristin Bauder Middlesex-Western Rowing Club
Lisa Roman Middlesex-Western Rowing Club
Women’s Four  
Christine Roper Ottawa Rowing Club
Colleen Nesbitt Calgary Rowing Club
Karen Lefsrud Calgary Rowing Club
Stephanie Grauer Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Women’s Double  
Andrea Proske Victoria City Rowing Club
Gabrielle Smith Knowlton Rowing Club
Spare: Morgan Rosts Ridley Graduate Boat Club
Lightweight Women’s Double  
Ellen Gleadow Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Jennifer Casson Kingston Rowing Club
Lightweight Women’s Single  
Jill Moffatt Western University Rowing Club
Women’s Single  
Carling Zeeman Sudbury Rowing Club
Men’s Pair  
Conlin McCabe Brockville Rowing Club
Kai Langerfeld University of Victoria Rowing Club
David de Groot Brock University Rowing Club
Tim Schrijver Brock University Rowing Club
Men’s Eight  
Benjamin de Wit University of British Columbia Rowing Club
Cody Bailey MicMac Aquatic Center
Gavin Stone Queen’s University Rowing Club
Jakub Buczek Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Mackenzie Copp Western University Rowing Club
Martin Barakso Brentwood College Rowing Club
Taylor Perry Leander Boat Club
Will Crothers Kingston Rowing Club
Lesley Thompson-Willie (coxswain) London Rowing Club
Men’s Double  
Matthew Buie St. Catharines Rowing Club
Aaron Lattimer University of British Columbia Rowing Club
Lightweight Men’s Double  
Maxwell Lattimer University of British Columbia Rowing Club
Patrick Keane Victoria City Rowing Club


Related News