Future Athlete Bursary recipients named

Future Athlete Bursary recipients named

Six athletes have been named recipients of RCA’s 2020 Future Athlete Bursary.

First introduced in 2014, the Future Athlete Bursary is designed to support up-and-coming Canadian rowers who remain in Canada while completing their post-secondary studies at a recognized Canadian institution.

Through a generous donation, this bursary provides financial support to up to six athletes a year who have demonstrated and continue to demonstrate commitment to becoming a high performance athlete in one of RCA’s High Performance programs.

“This means very much in allowing me to continue my studies and continue to train towards my goal of making a national team,” said recipient Grace Hutton. “It will also take away some of the struggle with juggling work and training by helping to pay for my studies in a program that I am passionate about.”

The 2020 recipients are Grace Hutton (Guelph University/Western Rowing Club), Claire Ellison (Queen’s University/Halifax Rowing Club), Liam Simpson (University of Victoria/Argonaut Rowing Club), Alexis Cronk (University of Victoria/Kingston Rowing Club), Aida Lissel-DeCorby (University of Victoria/Saskatoon Rowing Club), and Stephen Harris (Brock University/Guelph Rowing Club).

Related News