Under-23 Championships Underway in Plovdiv

HomeNews EventsNews

Wednesday, July 19, 2017 – Trevor Jones opened the World Rowing Under-23 Championships for Canada in the men’s single sculls on Day 1, placing first in his heat. With his finish, Jones heads to the quarterfinals on Friday.

Jones came out of fourth place at the 500m with a strong push taking over the first spot from Josh Armstrong of Great Britain. Jones pulled away from the pack leaving open water and crossing the finish line in first. He will race next in the quarterfinals on Friday beginning at 3:40 ET / 12:40 PT, with the schedule to be confirmed.

A packed schedule of racing follows on Thursday with the women’s eight and the remaining crews to compete in their heats.  

World Rowing Under-23 Championships (Plovdiv, Bulgaria)
Heats Schedule
Thursday, July 20
BW8+              2:05 a.m. ET / 11:05 p.m. PT
BLW1x            3:10 a.m. ET / 12:10 a.m. PT
BLW2x            3:25 a.m. ET / 12:25 a.m. PT
BLM2x             3:30 a.m. ET / 12:30 a.m. PT
BM4x             4:00 a.m. ET / 1:00 a.m. PT

Start lists, live tracking and audio commentary can be found at WorldRowing.com. RCA will also bring you live coverage on the Rowing Canada Aviron Twitter feed (@RowingCanada). Live video streaming will be available at WorldRowing.com for the A/B Semifinals on Friday and Saturday and the A-Finals on Saturday and Sunday.

For the full list of crews racing in Plovdiv, click here.

It’s also not too late to support the Under-23 team! RCA launched the All for One fundraising campaign, supporting the Under-23 and Junior athletes as they prepare for and compete at the 2017 World Rowing Championships. The goal of this campaign is to raise funds that will go directly to reducing any fees that athletes face when representing Canada.

Donations can be made at www.fundrazr.com/RCAallforone either to the Under-23 team, Junior team or both, with funds directly reducing the costs for athletes. To show your support of the athletes and the campaign via social media, post #RCAAllForOne on your Facebook or Twitter.

RCA would like to thank all those who have contributed already to the campaign in support of the next generation of Canadian rowers.