National Champions crowned at Burnaby Lake

HomeNews EventsNews

Burnaby, BC - The 2018 RCA National Rowing Championships and Canada Cup hosted by Rowing BC, wrapped up at Burnaby Lake last Sunday with 300 athletes competing from across Canada. The regatta was held from Thursday, November 8th until Sunday, November 11th.

In addition to the National Rowing Championships and Canada Cup, RCA celebrated the 10th anniversary of the 2008 Olympic Rowing team. The Athlete Awards Banquet took place on Sunday, November 11th, 2018, at the Hilton Vancouver Metrotown, celebrating top performers at the National Rowing Championships.

Special thanks goes out to the Rowing BC organizing committee and all the volunteers for their extensive efforts in delivering a successful event. 

National Rowing Championships Results

Women’s Single Sculls
Carling Zeeman (Ontario) – Gold
Andrea Proske (British Columbia) – Silver
Louise Munro (Ontario) – Bronze

Junior Women’s Single Sculls
Grace VandenBroek (Ontario) – Gold
Anna Burnotte (Quebec) – Silver
Claire Ellison (Nova Scotia) – Bronze

Under-23 Women’s Single Sculls
Louise Munro (Ontario) – Gold
Grace VandenBroek (Ontario) – Silver
Marilou Duvernay Tardif (Quebec) – Bronze

Under-23 Lightweight Women’s Single Sculls
Renee Lafreniere (British Columbia) – Gold
Julia Lindsay (British Columbia) – Silver
Kyra Urabe (Ontario) – Bronze

Lightweight Women’s Single Sculls
Jill Moffatt (Ontario) – Gold
Jaclyn Stelmaszyk (Ontario) – Silver
Ellen Gleadow (British Columbia) – Bronze

Para Rowing 1 - Women’s Single Sculls
Tracy Van Asseldonk (British Columbia) – Gold

Para Rowing 3 – Women’s Single Sculls
Bayleigh Hooper

Men’s Single Sculls
Matthew Buie (Ontario) – Gold
Gavin Stone (Ontario) – Silver
Andrew Stewart-Jones (Quebec) - Bronze

Junior Men’s Single Sculls
Jack Walkey (British Columbia) – Gold
Stephen Harris (Ontario) – Silver
Andrew Hubbard (Alberta) – Bronze

Under-23 Men’s Single Sculls
Gavin Stone (Ontario) – Gold
Nicolas Everett (Ontario) – Silver
Luke Brodeur (Ontario) – Bronze

Lightweight Men’s Single Sculls
Maxwell Lattimer (British Columbia) – Gold
Josh King (Ontario) – Silver
Taylor Hardy (British Columbia) – Bronze

Under-23 Lightweight Men’s Single Sculls
Patrick Keane (British Columbia) – Gold
Alex Bernst (Ontario) – Silver
Spencer Kielar (Ontario) – Bronze

Para Rowing 2 - Men’s Single Sculls
Jeremy Hall (Alberta) - Gold

Para Rowing 3 - Men’s Single Sculls
Andrew Todd (Ontario) – Gold
Kyle Fredrickson (Ontario) - Silver

Women’s Pair
Caileigh Filmer (British Columbia) and Avalon Wasteneys (BC) – Gold
Hillary Janssens (British Columbia) and Nicole Hare (AB) – Silver
Kirstin Bauder (Ontario) and Lisa Roman (British Columbia) – Bronze

Junior Women’s Pair
Maya Meschkuliet (Ontario) and Katherine Breen (Ontario) – Gold
Danica Vangsgaard (British Columbia) and Hana Anderson (Delta) – Silver
Morgan Poot (Don Rowing Club) and Rebecca Olvet (Don Rowing Club) - Bronze

Under-23 Women’s Pair
Caileigh Filmer (British Columbia) and Avalon Wasteneys (BC) – Gold
Ivy Elling Quaintance (British Columbia) and Lisa Gutfleish (British Columbia) – Silver
Maxine Chapman and Avalon Wasteneys (British Columbia) – Silver
Claire Brillion (British Columbia) and Paula Cameron (British Columbia) – Bronze

Men’s Pair
Kai Langerfeld (British Columbia) and Conlin McCabe (Ontario) – Gold
Taylor Perry (Ontario) and Mackenzie Copp (Ontario) – Silver
Cody Bailey (Nova Scotia) and Jakob Buczek (BC) – Bronze

Junior Men’s Pair
Andrew Barry (Ontario) and Christian McAlpine (Ontario) – Gold
Noel Balsor (Nova Scotia) and Emerson Crick (Nova Scotia – Silver
Sebastien Smith (St. George’s) and Julian Black (St. Georges) – Bronze

Under-23 Men’s Pair
Peter Lancashire (Brentwood) and Stephen Rosts (Brentwood) – Gold
Ryan Clegg (Alberta) and Curtis Ames (Alberta) – Silver
Brendan Wall (British Columbia) and Matthew Schultz (British Columbia)

Canada Cup

Men’s Quadruple Sculls

Women’s Quadruple Sculls

British Columbia

Provincial Points Challenge Efficiency Award

Bobby Pearce Junior Female Sculler of the Year Award
Grace VandenBroek (Ontario)

Jack Guest Junior Male Sculler of the Year Award
Jack Walkey (British Columbia)

For complete results click here