A Finals for Four U23 Crews

HomeNews EventsNews

Saturday, July 22, 2017 – Four Canadian crews will race in the A Finals of the World Rowing Under-23 Championships on Sunday, with the men’s single sculls and the lightweight men’s and women’s double sculls progressing in their semifinals.

Carly Zanatta finished first in the lightweight women’s single sculls, placing 13th overall at the in Plovdiv. This was Zanatta’s first Under-23 World Championships. The lightweight women’s double sculls of Jennifer Casson and Larissa Werbicki crossed the finish line in second in the semifinals behind Romania. The double will race in the A Final tomorrow 4:38 a.m. ET / 1:38 a.m. PT.

Patrick Keane and Aaron Lattimer will race for a medal tomorrow at 4:55 a.m. ET / 1:55 a.m. PT in the lightweight men’s double sculls. Keane and Lattimer finished first in a tight semifinal where they edged out Spain and Russia through the last 1000 metres.

In the men’s quadruple sculls semifinal, Ty Adams, Luc Brodeur, Dan de Groot and Gavin Stone finished fifth and will race in the B Final at 2:15 a.m. ET / 11:15 p.m. PT. After placing first in his semifinal, Trevor Jones progressed to the men’s single sculls A Final and will race tomorrow 5:25 a.m. ET / 2:25 a.m. PT. Jones had the fastest time coming out of the semifinal, narrowly edging South Africa in the previous semi.

The women’s eight will race in the A Final at 5:40 a.m. ET / 2:40 a.m. PT   

Start lists, live tracking and audio commentary can be found at WorldRowing.com. Live video streaming will be available at WorldRowing.com for the A/B Semifinals on Friday and Saturday and the A-Finals on Saturday and Sunday.

RCA All For One Campaign

It’s also not too late to support the Under-23 team! RCA launched the All for One fundraising campaign, supporting the Under-23 and Junior athletes as they prepare for and compete at the 2017 World Rowing Championships. The goal of this campaign is to raise funds that will go directly to reducing any fees that athletes face when representing Canada.

Donations can be made at www.fundrazr.com/RCAallforone either to the Under-23 team, Junior team or both, with funds directly reducing the costs for athletes. To show your support of the athletes and the campaign via social media, post #RCAAllForOne on your Facebook or Twitter.

RCA would like to thank all those who have contributed already to the campaign in support of the next generation of Canadian rowers.