Day 5 at a Glance – 2017 World Championships

HomeNews EventsNews

Thursday, September 28, 2017 – Sarasota, FL

Canada had a solid day of racing with three race victories and another A final qualification.

Canada locked down a huge win in the Women’s Eight repechage against the favoured United States and Great Britain. “We were aware that the race was tight but we felt relaxed and confident through the middle thousand so coming into the last five hundred, all we had to do was step up in gear to the line which we knew we had in the bank,” said Christine Roper.

Canada finished just ahead of USA with only 0.51 seconds of separation. “We’ve gone over our race plan a ton and evaluated it after the first race and knew what we needed to do in the first 10-15 strokes to get the best out of it and we did better than ever today,” said Kristin Bauder

The A final is set up to be an epic big boat battle with all the heavy hitters including Romania, Great Britain, Netherlands, New Zealand and USA. The United States has been unbeaten at World Championship and Olympic level for over 10 years. “A race win against USA does provide some confidence but they will be hungry going into the final so we don’t take anything for granted and know we need to bring our A game on Sunday,” said Roper. “Canada’s got such a rich tradition in the women’s eight. We are not only representing ourselves but the legacy of people that came before us.”

The Men’s double, Colin McCabe and Matt Buie, bounced back from a tough repechage loss yesterday commanding the lead in the C/D semis from start to finish today. “Matt and I are a new combination and we haven’t had many opportunities to race internationally,” said McCabe. “These are the experiences that we need if we want to be successful in the future.” The race win secures McCabe and Buie’s spot in the C final tomorrow.  “The goal is to have our best race of the year tomorrow.”

The Men’s four finished 4th in the Semifinal A/B today moving them into the B final on Saturday morning.  “We rowed a really good race and did everything we could. We knew that when we took those last strokes that it was the last amount of energy that we all had. We went out with 100% trust in each other and simply ended up short this time,” reflects Taylor Perry. “The important thing for us now is to recognize what we did well and use that to attack the B final.”

The final race victory of the day for Canada came from lightweight men’s single sculler Aaron Lattimer.  Aaron pulled away from the pack with a smooth semi-final race win to advance him to the C final tomorrow morning.

Check out complete results HERE.

Tomorrow, Canadian Lightweight Women’s Quad line up for the A final, Carling Zeeman races semi A/B and three Canadian boats compete in C finals.

09:30 ET/6:30PT – LM1x – C Final
11:05 ET/8:05PT – W1x – Semi A/B
13:00 ET/10:00PT –LW4x – FINAL A
13:55 ET/10:55PT – LM2x – Final C
14:15 ET/11:15ET – M2x – Final C

CBC Sports is streaming live coverage starting tomorrow:
Friday Sept 29 - 11:30 - 14:20 ET
Saturday Sept 30 - 09:50 - 12:30 ET
Sunday  Oct 1 - 09:30 - 12:10 ET

Editor Notes:
Live audio commentary and live race tracker will be available for ALL races on www.worldrowing.com.
CBC Sports is streaming live coverage starting tomorrow:

Friday Sept 29 - 11:30 - 14:20 ET
Saturday Sept 30 - 09:50 - 12:30 ET
Sunday  Oct 1 - 09:30 - 12:10 ET

Live VIDEO streaming will be available for all races over the first four days, then A/B semi-finals (28- 29 September) and all A-finals (29 September – 1 October) on www.worldrowing.com.

The semi-finals and finals of the world championships will be streamed on CBC Sports from Friday, September 29 to Sunday, October 1.

Full start lists, results tracking, and audio commentary can be found at WorldRowing.com

Join the conversation:  #WRChamps #TeamCanada