Day 4 at a Glance – Race Victories for Canada in Women’s Single and Lightweight Men’s Double

HomeNews EventsNews

Wednesday, September 27, 2017 – Sarasota, FL

The 2017 Rowing World Championships have hit the midway mark and Canada is heating things up in the Women’s single scull. Carling Zeeman charged out of the gate with a renewed confidence and aggression. Zeeman held the lead throughout the entire race, holding off NZL and crossing the finish line with ease. “I went into the race trying to stay relaxed as I was pretty tense on Sunday. My goal was to execute a race that had more focus and go out with an aggressive start,” said Zeeman. “I think the result of that first heat was a good thing for me. It was an awakening and now I know what I need to do.” Carling advances to the A/B semis on Friday.

Canadian lightweight men’s double (LM2X) raced the C/D repechage with a convincing win to advance to the C final on Saturday. Taylor Hardy and Patrick Keane adjusted their race plan and executed seamlessly, instilling a new team confidence moving into the final. “We are really happy with how we raced today. It was a really great opportunity to practice what we need to do to execute in our final.”


The women’s four put together a solid repechage despite missing the cut for the A final.  “We went into today knowing that it was going to be a tough race. Maybe we didn’t respond as well as we could have towards the end when the Dutch made their move, but we gave it our all and it was a super gutsy race,” said Susanne Grainger. “Obviously we are a bit disappointed but we are proud of what we laid down and know we are capable of more. Today wasn’t the day.” Susanne and crew members Nicole Hare, Lisa Roman, and Christine Roper will face the B finals on Saturday.

The Men’s double, Colin McCabe and Matt Buie, raced a gruelling repechage, battling head to head with USA and NED. Canada fell inches short of securing the qualification for A/B semi-finals, moving into C/D semis scheduled for tomorrow.
In the final race of the day for Canada, Aaron Lattimer raced the quarterfinals in the Lightweight single sculls, finishing 4th in his heat shifting over into the C/D semifinal.

Check out complete results HERE.

Tomorrow, four Canadian boats will battle in reps, and semis:

09:45 ET/6:45PT – M2x – Semi C/D
11:21 ET/8:21PT – M4- – Semi A/B
12:51 ET/9:51PT –W8+ – REP
13:26 ET/10:26PT – LM1x – Semi C/D

CBC Sports is streaming live coverage starting tomorrow:
Thursday Sept 28 - 10:05 - 12:50 ET
Friday Sept 29 - 11:30 - 14:20 ET
Saturday Sept 30 - 09:50 - 12:30 ET
Sunday  Oct 1 - 09:30 - 12:10 ET

Editor Notes:
Live audio commentary and live race tracker will be available for ALL races on www.worldrowing.com.

CBC Sports is streaming live coverage starting tomorrow:
Thursday Sept 28 - 10:05 - 12:50 ET
Friday Sept 29 - 11:30 - 14:20 ET
Saturday Sept 30 - 09:50 - 12:30 ET
Sunday  Oct 1 - 09:30 - 12:10 ET

Live VIDEO streaming will be available for all races over the first four days, then A/B semi-finals (28- 29 September) and all A-finals (29 September – 1 October) on www.worldrowing.com.

The semi-finals and finals of the world championships will be streamed on CBC Sports from Friday, September 29 to Sunday, October 1.

Full start lists, results tracking, and audio commentary can be found at WorldRowing.com

Join the conversation:  #WRChamps #TeamCanada