Day 3 at a Glance – Race victory for Men’s Four at World Championships

HomeNews EventsNews

Tuesday, September 26, 2017 – Sarasota, FL

Day three of Rowing World Championships saw Canadian success in the Men’s Four, claiming repechage victory and advancement to the semi finals.

Mackenzie Copp, David de Groot, Kai Langerfeld, and Taylor Perry were in good form today, making a few adjustments from the last race to secure the win. “Our start is something that needed a bit of work and today that improvement led us to a good rhythm where we could relax more through the middle,” said Rio Olympian, Kai Langerfeld. “We worked on the first five strokes and made them a little quicker so we could get into better position.” The men’s four semi-finals are scheduled for Thursday the 28th.

The Canadian women’s eight (W8+) made an impressive entrance today finishing 2nd in their heat behind the powerful Romania.  Members of the Canadian team include; Kristin Bauder, Susanne Grainger, Nicole Hare, Hillary Janssens, Jennifer Martins, Lisa Roman, Christine Roper, Rebecca Zimmerman and Coxswain Kristen Kit.  

Rowing their first event together as a crew, this initial race was a good barometer of success.  “It was a solid race. The start felt good and we settled into a race rhythm with an aggressive approach to our rate and attacks,” said Zimmerman.

The coxswain’s role is crucial in coordinating the power and rhythm and today’s race was no exception. “Kit (Kristen Kit) was great at walking us through the Netherlands and we responded really well to her calls so that’s very positive,” said Janssens. The women’s eight are progressing to the repechage on Thursday at 12:51ET.

Canadian lightweight men’s double (LM2X) raced to a 4th place finish in the repechage. Taylor Hardy and Patrick Keane move into the C/D semifinals tomorrow at 11:04 ET.

Check out complete results HERE.

Tomorrow, 5 Canadian boats will battle in reps, quarterfinals and semis:

11:04 ET/8:04PT – LM2x – Semi –C/D
11:25 ET/8:25PT – W4- – REP
11:40 ET/8:40PT – M2x – REP
12:05 ET/9:05PT – W1x – REP
12:21 ET/9:21PT – LM1x - Quarterfinals

Editor Notes:

Live audio commentary and live race tracker will be available for ALL races on www.worldrowing.com.

Live VIDEO streaming will be available for all races over the first four days, then A/B semi-finals (28- 29 September) and all A-finals (29 September – 1 October) on www.worldrowing.com.

The semi-finals and finals of the world championships will be streamed on CBC Sports from Friday, September 29 to Sunday, October 1.

Full start lists, results tracking, and audio commentary can be found at WorldRowing.com

Join the conversation:  #WRChamps #TeamCanada