Day 2 at a Glance – Victory for Lightweight Women's Quad at World Championships

HomeNews EventsNews

Monday, September 25, 2017 – Sarasota, FL

Today, the Lightweight Women’s Quad (LW4x) secured Canada’s first heat win and ticket to the A final of the World Championships. Jennifer Casson, Ellen Gleadow, Trish Mara and Jill Moffatt overhauled reigning World Champions GBR at the halfway mark and held onto the lead. It was neck and neck with GBR until Canada made it to the line first with only one stroke separating the two boats. “We were confident in our speed. We knew if we got out in front, we could hold it,” said Ellen Gleadow and Jill Moffatt.  “We accomplished what we set out to do and we look forward to building on that going into the A final,” added Jennifer Casson. Canada will face off against top countries GBR, ITA in the A Finals on Friday, September 29th.

The men’s double (M2x), Matthew Buie and Conlin McCabe, finished 5th in their heat today, moving onto reps on Wednesday.

The women’s four (W4-) Susanne Grainger, Nicole Hare, Lisa Roman, and Christine Roper finished their heat in third and will also race in the repechages on Wednesday.

Carling Zeeman narrowly missed advancing to the semis in the women’s single scull (W1x) today. A gutsy battle against Denmark with a photo finish left Zeeman in 2nd place and repechages on Wednesday.

Tomorrow, two Canadian boats will be looking to advance from reps and the women’s eight debut:

12:31 ET/9:31PT – LM2x – REP – Taylor Hardy and Patrick Keane
13:10 ET/10:10PT M4 – REP – Mackenzie Copp, David de Groot, Kai Langerfeld and Taylor Perry.
13:30 ET/10:30PT – W8+ – Kristin Bauder, Susanne Grainger, Nicole Hare, Hillary Janssens, Jennifer Martins, Lisa Roman, Christine Roper, Rebecca Zimmerman and Coxswain Kristen Kit.

Editor Notes:
Live audio commentary and live race tracker will be available for ALL races on www.worldrowing.com. 
Live VIDEO streaming will be available for all races over the first four days, then A/B semi-finals (28- 29 September) and all A-finals (29 September – 1 October) on www.worldrowing.com.
The semi-finals and finals of the world championships will be streamed on CBC Sports from Friday, September 29 to Sunday, October 1.
Full start lists, results tracking, and audio commentary can be found at WorldRowing.com
Join the conversation: #WRChamps #TeamCanada