Para-Rowing, formerly known as adaptive rowing, was introduced into the Paralympic program in 2005 and held its first Paralympic events in Beijing in 2008.  At the second appearance of rowing at the 2012 London Paralympic Games, 23 countries competed for 12 medals in four events with a total of 48 boats and 96 rowers. The medals were spread among nine countries. The next Paralympics will be held in Rio Sept. 7 to 18, 2016.

Para-Rowing is uniquely integrated with FISA, and Para-rowers participate along side Olympic athletes in FISA World Cups and World Championship regattas each year.  With a new event added in 2013, Para-Rowing is currently divided into five boat classes: LTAMix4+, LTAMix2X, TAMix2x, ASW1x, and ASM1x. The LTA and TA are mixed gender boats. Races are held over 1000 metres for all five events.

Canada at the Paralympics

Canada sent teams to the 2008 and 2012 Olympics.

2008 – Overall rank

LTAMi4+ - 6th
TAMix2x – 11th
ASM1x  - 11th

2012 – Overall rank

ASW1x – 6th
LTAMix4+ - 7th

For more on the Paralympic movement in Canada, see